Courage To Be Me

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.  Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.  It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us.  We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?  Actually, who are you not to be?  You are a child of God.  Your playing small does not serve the world.  There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.  We are all meant to shine, as children do.  We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us.  It is not just in some of us; it is in everyone.  And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.  As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

By Marianne Williamson

            I love a good beat.  Guess that’s why I enjoy rap music so much!  Yesterday during worship the drummer’s beat was bold, exact, clear and without hesitation.  I was really enjoying listening to the drums when I heard the Lord say, “There’s nothing worse than a timid drummer.”  Whoa.  That stopped me.  “What an odd comment,” was my initial thought.  Then I began to ponder and uncover what He was saying to me.

            Just an aside, when God gives a prophetic word or a profound statement that seemingly doesn’t make sense, ask Him to clarify.  There are no “stupid” questions to ask the Holy Spirit.  I have a hunch He waits for us to ask because He loves to answer.

            What came next was encouragement from God to not hold back or be timid in my presentation, but to speak and write as one with His authority.  He was cheering me on to fully embrace who He made me to be.  He doesn’t want me to hem or haw, but to get right to the point.  I’m to be bold, exact, clear and without hesitation in His calling.

            For many years I’ve believed the lie that what I have to say isn’t valuable or worth hearing.  In some ways I’ve tried to deny and avoid being who God has made me to be.  It’s like I’ve buried my talent because of fear instead of being like the 5 talent investor in Matthew 25:14-30.  Just last week He convicted me in a particular area of being half of what He desired because of my fear of man.  This truth grieved my heart.  I want to wholly embrace all He desires for me because He is worthy.  I want to hear the Father say, “Well done, good and faithful servant.”

            God’s promise in II Timothy 1:7 buoys me up.  “For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline.” Our fear/timidity does not come from God.  We can be courageous and confident knowing He will equip us for His call.                                                                                                                                                                              I don’t need to hesitate or hold back with who I am and neither do you.  If you need it, I give you permission to be you!  More importantly, God gives you permission to fully serve the world by playing big.  He wants His daughters to manifest His glory.  So go ahead and strike the drum heads of life confidently and courageously, and give God all you’ve got!

Relevant Reflections:

1.  Where are you timidly drumming away in life?

2.  Ask God for courage to be who He’s created you to be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment